Monaco’s streets host the best known Formula 1 Grand Prix and as well as a sporting spectacle it is one of Europe’s premier social highlights of the year, with the best yachts in the world visiting the Principality and celebrities staying in the Monaco hotels such as the Hotel de Paris, the Columbus and the Grand, with many others staying in Nice.

The Monaco Grand Prix (French: Grand Prix de Monaco) held each year on the Circuit de Monaco, is considered to be one of the most important and prestigious automobile races in the world alongside the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans (with which it forms the Triple Crown of Motorsport). The history, spectacle and glamour result in the race being considered “the jewel of the Formula One crown”.

f1 monaco GP

ferrari pit-stop monaco

brawn GP

monaco F1 2009

monaco GP

brawn GP F1

monaco-2009 Grand Prix

casino de monte carlo

Recent Winners

2009 Jenson Button – Brawn Mercedes
2008 Lewis Hamilton – McLaren Mercedes
2007 Fernando Alonso – McLaren Mercedes
2006 Fernando Alonso – Renault
2005 Kimi Raikkonen – McLaren Mercedes

The final positions were:

  1. Jenson Button (Gbr) Brawn GP 1hr 40mins 44.282secs
  2. Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Brawn GP 1:40:51.948
  3. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 1:40:57.724
  4. Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:40:59.392
  5. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:41:00.012
  6. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams 1:41:17.868
  7. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault 1:41:22.121
  8. Sebastien Bourdais (Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:41:47.424

monaco gp circuit map